The Midlands Inter-Club GMT Award.

Winter  2019-2020

Sponsored by

Our first “GMT Contest” finished on 31st January 2020.

Presentation of the award was to take place at the 2020 Wythall Hamfest but as this was cancelled, the presentation took place 4 days earlier at a secret location.

Pete Minchin, G6NHW (on the left) from the Sutton Coldfield ARS was the overall winner and is seen here receiving a certificate and the Wouxun KG-UVN1 DMR handheld radio kindly donated by Martin Lynch and Sons Ltd.  from Stu G4KUR, organiser of the GMT Contest.

Certificates have been posted to the leading stations from some of the participating clubs.

In total, 23 local clubs participated:

Bolsover ARS,  Bromsgrove and District ARC,  Central RAC,  Cheltenham ARA,  Coventry ARS,  Dudley and District ARS,  Gloucester ARES,  Leicester RS,  Midland ARS,  Mid Warwickshire ARS,  Nuneaton and District ARS,  Rugby ATS,  Salop ARS,  Solihull ARS,  South Birmingham ARS,  Stafford and Districts ARS,  Stratford on Avon ARS,  Sutton Coldfield ARS,  Tamworth ARS,  Telford and District ARS,   Wolverhampton ARS,  Worksop ARS,  Wythall RC.

Many thanks to all who took part and made the contest a success.

Planning for the next GMT Contest is already underway with some changes being made to reflect upon lessons learnt from this our first attempt.



┬ęG4KUR  2019-2020